All Hopped Up!

Tonight, I finally made it to my first Hillsboro Hops game of the season. As a part of Farmers Insurance’s summer event, I got to take my wife and son to the game. Unfortunately, the Hops fell 7-1 to the Boise Hawks, but while sitting on the first base side of the infield, two rows up from the field, I realized once again what a great place Ron Tonkin Field is to take in an evening baseball game.

If you’re in the Portland area, get to a game before the regular season ends on September 6th. The fan experience is second-to-none, there isn’t a bad seat in the house, and there are inflatable play areas beyond the center field fence that is perfect for kids. Tickets start as low as $6 for general admission, which is a very good price for live baseball.

(As a side note, I just discovered on Twitter that tonight was Neil Everett bobblehead night, which I had been looking forward to since the start of summer! Neil is one of my favorite news personalities. Unfortunately, we didn’t arrive until 10 minutes after the first pitch, and I had no clue that I had missed it! Argh!)

Some photos from tonight’s game:

View from the first base line
View from the first base line
From center field
From center field
Nate watching the pitchers hang out in the bullpen
Nate watching the pitchers hang out in the bullpen

Excuse the photo quality. I’d love to make it to one more game this season with my Nikon in tow.

Go Hops!

Leave a Reply

